What I actually want to do with my life

It’s been a very interesting couple of weeks for me. Why, you may ask? Well, I’ll tell you why. In case you don’t keep up with my blog page, I decided to send my previous blog post to Stuff.co.nz to get published on there, and well, I went a tiny bit viral. A little bit. I got so many likes, comments and shares on there that I’m maybe thinking that this might become a regular thing? You guys send me ideas on what I could write about and next thing you know you may see an article on there reading, “Why My Cat Is My Best Friend”, or, “How To Make A Cheese Toastie Without A Toastie Maker.” (I was infamous for that last pointer at my last year at boarding school). I rang my parents a couple of night ago for a catch-up and they told me I should write about something really outrageous and funny so I’ll put my thinking cap on and let you know what I come up with! Watch this space…

I also sent fellow blogger Loving Ellie’s Belly one of my posts that I wrote aaaages ago about going through a breakup, and she wrote back and told me she LOVED it! Her blog is just such an inspiration to me and is actually the reason I started my own blog at the start of the year. It honestly put such a smile on my face that she liked my stuff so I’m definitely going to write more things like that.

Anyway, please excuse my ramblings on, for this particular post is about what I actually do with my life. At this point in my twenties, I am just about to turn 22 and am starting to get a rough idea of how to be an adult, even though I’m not very good at it. I studied at Ara for three years doing a graphic design course, and although it did teach me a lot about how to use Photoshop, how to create posters and booklets and how to put together a portfolio, I haven’t exactly got a job from it. Yet. Because I’m saving up money for my big OE next year to England by working in a cafe, and if I’m going to be away for at least a year, I don’t really want to have a proper job yet that earns me $100k a year and is enough for my own little house and a holiday cruising around the Greek Islands. (Wishful thinking, I know. But it would be nice).

So. As the date draws nearer for me to apply for my working visa in the UK, I’ve been thinking about what I actually want to do with my life. I have big dreams, and at this stage they may seem far-fetched and slightly unrealistic. And some of them may never come true. But at least I have the imagination to dream them in the first place, right? So, I present to you… *clears throat*

 My List Of Things That I Would Like To Do In My Lifetime Before I Turn At Least 30:

  1. Travel everywhere. And I do mean EVERYWHERE. I’m lucky enough to be heading off on a Contiki trip that runs for 23 days early next year, and it goes all round the most incredible places. Amsterdam, Italy, France, Poland, even to Slovakia for a little bit. I know I won’t be in each place for very long (only about one or two days) but still, I’ll get to see a lot of places and take some Instagram-worthy photos that I’ll post on there and on my blog page regularly. Some of my friends are definitely going to hate me for this…sorry guys. Tee hee hee.

IMG_2908.jpg

2.  Following on from that, become a reasonably well-known blogger. My goal for my blog is to turn it more into a travel blog, where I take photos of places I go and write about where I’ve been and what I get up to on my travels. And of course, also blog about all the amazing food I manage to stuff my face with when on said adventures. I have a whole list of places around the UK I want to visit, and what better way to document my travels and to tell my story than by writing about it and sharing it with the world? In an ideal world, blogging and occasionally producing the odd artwork to sell would be my main way of making a living. Getting more followers is always the tricky part (I mean would anyone actually want to read half the stuff I put on here?) but it can be done! #perseveranceiskey

3. Walk in the 2019 Wearable Arts Show. After I go travelling, I’m going to have to come back to NZ to pay off my student loan. So I’d like to move up to Wellington, find a job up there to do with design or writing, and near the end of the year, walk in the annual Wearable Arts show. This has been my dream since I was about nine years old and watched 2004 winner Clair Prebble walk away with the Supreme Award prize for her outfit ‘EOS’ on a televised replay of the show. I’m not much of a fashion designer unless it involves using safety pins to prevent a heinous wardrobe malfunction, but I’d love to be on stage, doing a bit of dancing and modelling the outfits. BUT I’m heading up there in October this year to watch this year’s show and I will definitely be writing about it afterwards!

4. Pay off my student loan. Again, this one’s a big one. I hate being in debt. It’s the worst thing ever, and part of me worries that I’ll never pay it off. Plus when I go overseas, it will gain interest and then I’ll have twice as much as I did when I first started, and…ugh. Let’s move on, quickly now, so I can try and forget what I’ve just written.

5. Sell a few of my art pictures. Anyone who knows me will know that I love to draw. I do a lot of illustrations in my spare time, which I keep in my drawing folder. One thing I would love to do is see one of my pictures printed out nicely and framed, hanging in the living room or bathroom of a nice, middle-class family. Maybe I’ll have to put an ‘Art’ category on my blog or my Instagram for people to have a look at or something? Hmm…

IMG_2921

6. Appear on the Ellen show. I don’t regularly watch the show, but I’ve seen snippets of it from videos on the old Bookface, and I love Ellen DeGeneres just the same. She’s so funny and interviews so many people, from celebrities to adorable four-year olds who know more about science and geography than I did after from spending five years in high school. Maybe if I get famous from my blogging, her representatives might send me an email being all like, “Bindy, Ellen says she’s absolutely blown away by your writing and talent, here’s an invitation to fly first-class to America and appear on her show in a week, all expenses paid.” Now that would be AMAZING.

7. Write and publish a book. This is also another dream of mine, to see my name in print on the front cover of a book. Maybe it’ll be my memoirs, titled something like, ‘Being Bindy: Tales Of An Intrepid Travel Blogger”. Then again, maybe I’ll write a work of fiction that combines adventure, romance and action. One of my friends is currently writing a book that reminds me a bit of the Harry Potter series, so I jokingly refer to him as ‘the next JK Rowling’. Anyway, my book-writing dreams are still very much aflame.

8. Dance with a complete stranger in the street. I’ve been learning salsa, bachata and Zouk for a while now (although I still want to learn way more Zouk moves), and something I would love to do if I ever visit Spain or Brazil during a street party is to dance one of these styles with a stranger. Dancing is all about having fun, and it’s also one of my main ways I keep fit and practise my moves. So if that’s the case, dancing in the street with a good-looking partner is definitely the way to go.

Aaaand…that’s it! For now. I’m not going anywhere for quite a few months yet, but I definitely plan to keep writing about things I love! If anyone has any topics they want me to cover, let me know because I always love to hear your ideas!

Love always,

Bindy Xxx


Leave a comment